Lyutova house is a unique monument of Renaissance architecture, mural paintings and woodcarvings. It was built in 1854 by masters of Plovdiv for Stefan Topalov – a cattle-drover and tax-collector from Koprivshtitsa. Later the house was sold to the merchant Petko Liutov.
It consists of ground floor and lower floor with a symmetrical layout. The external decoration is very frugal but the inner mural painting is rich and impressive. Double staircase leads visitors to the second floor where a unique ceiling is to be seen – a composition with an incredible combination of paintings and carvings. It is an ellipse with eight mural medallions that reflect exotic eastern landscapes. From the wooden arbor ceiling hang beautiful chandeliers. In the middle of the ceiling is located an oval wooden sun. The mural paintings and friezes – cornices and niches – are impressive with its exquisite craftsmanship. This rich wall decoration of the house is the second layer made around 1860, probably by order of the second owner, Petko Liutov.
Liutova house is now an ethnographic museum. On the ground floor, there are shown Koprivshtitsa authentic and permanent exhibition of original art by Maria Bodurova, which are donation of museums. The colorful rugs made of wool and were used to cover the floors, and as thick comfortable bedding. They are made at home through specific methods of milling and compression and are decorated with colored wool with natural dyes.
On the second floor is exposed a rose water fountain, which used to irrigate the air in the upper hall. In the blue room is reproduced the urban life of the late nineteenth century. The exposition shows a woman’s dress and a traditional home from Koprivsthitsa.
Opening hours for all Museums – Oslekova house, Lyutova house, House Museum Georgi Benkovski, House Museum Dimcho Debelyanov, Complex of houses Lyuben and Petko Karavelov and farm building, House Museum Todor Kableshkov
- During the summer (April 1 – November 1) Museums are open from 9:30 to 17:30.
- In winter (November 1 to April 1) – from 9:00 to 17:00.
The fallowing Museums are closed on:
- Monday : House Museum Dimcho Debelyanov, House Museum Todor Kableshkov
- Tuesdays: Lyutova house, Complex of houses Lyuben and Petko Karavelov, House Museum Georgi Benkovski